loader image

Home > Blog > Fleece to Fashion Gala Awards 2022

Fleece to Fashion Gala Awards 2022

Date: 12 May 2022

The Fleece to Fashion Awards was held at the Deeargee Woolshed on Monday and attracted fashion design entries from Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney, Mildura, Young, and the local New England region.

For the first time since the beginning of the pandemic, the ceremony served as a warm reunion for wool producers, fashion designers, the New England community, and wool industry stakeholders.


A 2022 wool fashion collection was also judged by renowned Australian fashion designer Akira Isogawa, former designer for RM Williams and Country Road Jonathan Ward, and fashion journalist and media personality Melissa Hoyer.

“Dechen Kandro, aged 15, of Uralla State School, was announced the winner of the MJ Bale Supreme Award, acknowledged for her winning design – a pant-suit, cape and cloche hat – — made entirely from Australian merino wool. The judges all indicated this year’s quality was the best they’d seen in the competition”

Jess Webb, 2022

Congratulations to the following winners for all categories. Special mention to Margaret Creagan (pictured below with Paul Williams), who won the sportswear category. Margaret retired from R&M a few years ago after 40+ years with our firm!

We were so proud to sponsor this event celebrating our region and all it offers!

2022 Award winners

Section one – Winterbourne Pastoral Company Secondary School Award
Section two – Virbac Emerging Designer Award
Section three – Bredal SportswearAward
Section four – Nutrien Wearable Art Disney Recycled Wearable Art Award
First prize: Dechen Kendro, Uralla (cream pantsuit, pink cape, clouche hat)
  • Second prize: Kayla Cook, Armidale (1920’s Coco Chanel-inspired pink woven dress with jacket)First prize: Catherine Lesmana, Melbourne (monotone collection)
  • Second prize: Yasuha Miki, Adelaide (Japanese feminine menswear)First prize: Margaret Creagan, Armidale (red and black elegant ski outfit)
  • Second prize – Pam Stolhand, Young (rainbow ski)First prize: Kimberley Francis, Adelaide (evil queen)
  • Second prize: Pam Stolhand, Young (Cochella Pocohontas)
Section five – Regional Collab Diversity in Wool
Section six – Roberts & Morrow Race Wear Award
Section seven – Cressbrook Evening Wear Award
Section eight – Rydges Bridal Wear Award
Deeargee Most Marketable Award
Kayla Cook, Armidale (1920’s Coco Chanel-inspired design) Australian Wool Network Innovation Award
  • First prize: Sarah McCaskie, Orange (cream triangular panel bodice and pants)
  • Second prize: Sophie Davidson, Orange (cream dress and fleece-like jacket)
  • First prize: Samantha Stolhand, Young (purple jersey draped dress)
  • Second prize: Judy Bond, Mildura (cream and black crocheted suit)First prize: Samantha Stolhand, Young NSW (teal jersey draped gown)
  • Second prize: Judy Bond, Mildura NSW (black sequinned crocheted gown)First prize: Julie Harris, Uralla (ivory traditional wedding gown)
  • Second prize: Judy Bond, Mildura (cream crocheted hooded wedding gown)
  • Catherine Lesmana, Melbourne (Whitehouse Institute of Design monotoned collection)

Akira Internship – Ella Tardrew – Whitehouse Institute of Design

MJ Bale Supreme Award – Dechen Kendro, Uralla Central School

Media contact: Jess Webb 0439284000 jess.isabel.webb@gmail.com


Know More

Dux of CTA2A Advanced Steven Tanner

Dux of CTA2A Advanced Steven Tanner

Steven Tanner, our Manager in the Brisbane office, was recently awarded Dux of CTA2A Advanced for Study Period 3 2023. A fantastic result in an advanced tax course, congratulations Steven! We asked him a few questions to reflect on his achievement and provide some...

read more
Changes to Superannuation Caps

Changes to Superannuation Caps

For the first time in three years, superannuation contribution caps will be increasing, with the changes coming into effect from 1 July 2024. Contribution cap increases are linked to average weekly time ordinary earnings (AWOTE) figures, with a figure greater than...

read more